..One Month..

Gabriel is officially one month old today.  We survived!  And life with two kids?  In a nutshell…  Busy.  Tiring.  Interesting.  Some days I want to run away and others I am so happy I could split at the seams.  Not to say that it isn’t hard, because it is.  Having an active 5 year old going through Mom withdrawal and a baby attached to your hip sometimes makes me long for the single days.  The other day Jordan and I went to Superstore sans kids and we couldn’t believe how easy and fast leaving the house and shopping was. We were gone for less than 40 minutes and managed to shop, pay, and drive there and back.  It was amazing and surreal!  I also miss having time to shower and eat in peace, but we’ll get there eventually.  Give it 18 more years, right?

It’s also crazy how different two babies can be.  Gabriel is ALL about Mom, poor Dad is left in the dark.  And will NOT sleep alone.  It’s like pulling teeth! He finally took the soother yesterday as well, but will spit that baby out if things don’t go his way!  Sofia on the other hand?  Was sleeping in her crib, in her room at one month.  She wouldn’t take the soother and would go to both Jordan and myself.  But she was a crier!  Partly likely due to the sans soother problem. I’m hoping to curb Gabriel’s crying habits with a baby carrier (as well as soother…wish I had done this more with Sofia, but oh well).  I can only carry the little gaffer so long before my arms start to give out.  He’s also gaining weight like crazy, so if he keeps this up the arm pain will only get worse!  Another difference?  Gabriel is a GREAT eater.  Prefers breastfeeding to bottle and we haven’t had to supplement, whereas with Sofia I was pumping, nursing and supplementing to maintain her weight.  It’s so refreshing to not have to really worry about that this time, except for the non-stop feeding spurts that Gabe has.  The boy wants to eat all.the.time.  Wears a girl out!

We’re also still dealing with jealousy issues with Sofia and working on establishing new routines and traditions with our family of 4.  It’s difficult when she can remember a time when she was the only one and can reference specific events and dates.   I know it’ll get better but it’s challenging, especially early in the morning when she just doesn’t want to listen.  Also frustrating when she dotes on her little brother, but then carries around a picture of the 3 of us , kissing it, saying…I miss when it was just us 3…

I’m happy to announce that despite the big changes we’ve gone through, my depression and anxiety have so far been under control.  There are some days where I’m not sure I can handle everything as I seem to have forgotten some things about babies and newborns, then adding in another kid on top of it, but I’m feeling MUCH better than what I was back in October.  The big thing I’m dealing with is lack of sleep, especially since Gabe likes to get up at 3/4 am after getting to bed around 11/midnight.  Sometimes I can’t fall back asleep so that mixed in with endless morning cries makes me feel a little crazy some days.  Then add in Sofia’s daily morning meltdown because I wasn’t able to help her get dressed and I’m done before the day even begins.  Looking forward to sleeping again one day!  Just hoping it’s in the near future.  Must remind myself not to compare Gabe to Sofia in case he doesn’t sleep 12hrs come 6 months old…:p

Here are some updated Sofia quotes to end off my post.  One thing I’ve started working on again are these, so hopefully I can keep writing them down before my lack of brain forgets.  Enjoy and Happy Friday!  😀

Holding Gabe..

I’m saving him from you.  Muhahahaha!!

Just an FYI, Mya..

I know you love him but you have to be good [for the record, Mya was sleeping on the couch at the time, lol]

One more thing..

Mya, when you scratch I can see your bum

On crying in the car seat..

Brother just cries in there.  I never hear him say, ‘it’s okay, I’ll be alright’.

Valentine’s from a boy [it read that he thought Sofia was pretty]..

Why does he say this and then calls me stupid?  That doesn’t make any sense.

..One Month..

..One Month..

..One Month..

* Family and sibling photos are credit to Lisa with O’Snap Photography, who is absolutely fantastic!!*

Leave a Reply

