..Sofiaisms, the energy villan..

It never ceases to amaze me how much energy little kids have.  Sofia can get up at 7am, be up all day, have a quick ‘cat nap’ in the car on the way home, and be fresh as a daisy; running around the house talking non-stop about everything she sees, hears, smells, and feels.  More time is spent at dinnertime reminding the girl to stop talking than it is her eating.  My mom is likely reading this right now laughing at the pay back I’m receiving.  Many a night was spent at our house being reminded to eat, or perhaps to not talk about dissecting animals at the dinner table or other disgusting things that should not be mentioned while eating ground meat.  Yup, that was me.  Yum.

Then comes the delightful fight that is bedtime.  First comes the warning that bedtime is approaching, then the push upstairs with promise of snack in bed, which then brings us to negotiations on brushing teeth and going potty before bed…

But MOM!  I already went pee!  At Grandma’s!!

Yeah.  That was three hours ago.  Nice try.

Meanwhile, the girl is still bounding with energy, telling stories about her booboos and reasons she should stay up later…

I have a booboo, the floor hit me.  I don’t know what happened.

When she finally gets into bed (with another promise of closing the closet door and turning on her turtle night light and/or humidifier) we deal with another twenty minutes of huggies and kisses, can’t forget to kiss each stuffy at least twice, and don’t forget to hug them as well.  Oh, and on occasion the last attempt to stay up…

The sun is out, that means it’s still morning.

Uhhh, I don’t think so!

After hugging and kissing all the stuffies it’s then Sofia’s turn.  You cannot just give one hug and one kiss, it must be in multiples, each one longer than the last and being accompanied with a sound effect.  We then wish a goodnight, give multiple air kisses, and determine the appropriate door spacing so the light is able to seep into the room a bit, just not toooo much.

Ohhh I’m so tired.  I really need the iPad.

Then depending on who puts her to bed, the other parent is summoned to her room for their turn of goodnights.  If you’re not ready at her door at the exact time she wants, beware of the wrath of Fia (mainly hyperventilating tears and sobs coming from the top of the stairs).

MOM, MOOOOOOOOM, MOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!  I just want a hug and kiss.

By this time, I’m exhausted.  How my girl can still have energy by this point astounds me.  Many a day after work I can barely make out a sentence, never mind throwing a dance party in the living room after dinner.  I just want to curl up in a ball and rock myself to sleep.  If only!

But we keep up.  I tell myself this won’t last forever and I should soak it all in, and of course, write it all down; because one day I’ll want to look back at these moments, smile at the memories and then use them as blackmail.

..Sofiaisms, the energy villan..

I’m kidding, of course! 😉 …

Leave a Reply

