..The Little Things, part two..

Four posts in two days.  It’s definitely more than I’m used to but I’m feeling the need to write tonight.  After almost a full day of goodness, I was about to leave work when I got a call that unsettled me.  I won’t go into details but I set off for home in poor spirits.  After getting on the bus, we sat in traffic for what seemed like hours as construction has officially started on the worst road on my commute.  To make things worse, it’s the second time that road has been worked on in two years.  Makes no sense to me!  Then I get home and Mya throws up on the carpet.  Why, why the carpet?!  The laminate flooring was literally centimetres away.  This also doesn’t make much sense to me.  Plus, to top it all off, I’m still under the weather with my cold.  AND it’s still chilly outside.  Blah.

Needless to say, I’m feeling a bit down tonight.  To cheer myself up and get out of my ‘funk’, I decided to write a second list of the little things that make me happy.  In the grand scheme of things, my problems really aren’t that bad, just fueled by a domino-effect of negativity.

..The Little Things, part two..

  • Having Quiznos for dinner.  Super delicious and requires no effort whatsoever.
  • Explaining to people at work that my name starts with a ‘K’ and my last name a ‘C’.  They find it hilarious!
  • Being mistaken as a 22 year old.  Everyone always told me I’d appreciate this one day and that day is finally here!
  • Having supportive coworkers and supervisor.
  • Laughing so hard all that comes out is uncontrollable snorting.

..The Little Things, part two..

  • Getting my first work paycheque.  Thursday will be the best day ever.
  • Chocolate peanut butter.  Have I mentioned this before???
  • Homemade Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies.  So delicious!
  • Watching Young and The Restless before dinner.  It’s my new guilty pleasure.
  • Homemade vegetable soup.  Also so delicious and perfect cold comfort food.
  • Teaching Sofia how to write her name properly.  She seems to struggle with the concept of writing left-to-right and excels at writing right-to-left and backwards but we’re working on it.  

..The Little Things, part two..

  • Snuggling with Mya for a couple minutes.  Once Dad gets home I cease to exist.
  • My neighbours tulips.  They finally growing, turning green, and soon to bloom.  I’m so excited!  They’re going to be beautiful.
  • A husky sticking his head out the car window as they drive by.  Pure enjoyment and satisfaction written all over its face.
  • Eating dinner with my little family.
  • Dancing to a catchy song down the street, not caring who sees or what people think.
  • Discussing Sofia’s day and how she ‘only watched 3 shows today, Mom!’

..The Little Things, part two..

When I’m sick I always have to have blankets on.  My feet and legs get cold.

I’m afraid of monkeys, but not tigers.  And little bit afraid of big dogs, but not Mya.

When you eat, like soup, you can throw up in your bed.  I did on Friday, when I was 3.

Leave a Reply

