..Buns of Cinnamon..

So much of what I bake has cinnamon in it. It’s almost like a reflex, I bring out the KitchenAid mixer and kick up the cinnamon. There’s just something about it I love…the smell, the taste…it just makes me happy. Maybe that’s a weird thing to say about a spice, but that’s just me. I’m weird and wonderful. That being said, those that are allergic or have aversions, not everything I make contains cinnamon,so do not fret!  You can still eat safely at my house.

I was reading my new Looneyspoons cookbook the other night and came across this quote, which I instantly loved (and not just because its from Ellen DeGeneres):

You know, I really don’t need buns of steel. I’d be happy with buns of cinnamon.

I feel the same way, Ellen! Well, except I honestly wouldn’t mind buns of steel as well as buns of cinnamon.  Is it possible to have both?  Oooohh, how I wish!

If you’re looking for an excellent cinnamon treat and you like scones, check out this recipe.  The scones are so good I had to stop making them as we’d go through the entire batch in two days.  Not exactly working well for my new eating healthy diet. That being said, I’m still tempted to make them, but afraid I’ll just eat them anyway.  They’re just THAT good! It’s also a great way to use up those overripe bananas you have sitting around.

The last time I made them, I combined the cinnamon-sugar filling in with the rest of the dough, and it tasted just as good, and was a ton of less work when dividing up the dough into wedges.  I also froze the dough for awhile to make cutting easier.  I’m all about ease with baking!

scones

2 thoughts on “..Buns of Cinnamon..

  1. Joyce Maycher says:

    Took that recipe home for my mom to make. Looks great. I don’t catch all your Katias words but I check in every once in a while. I hope all is well.

    On Wed, Mar 27, 2013 at 1:19 PM, katia’s words

Leave a Reply

