..Cracking Down on Eating..

I’ve come to the decision that I need to eat better.  After 6 weeks of being off work, and scrutinizing my eating habits, I’ve realized I don’t make good choices when it comes to meals and it needs to change.  Especially when it comes to breakfast.  I’ve heard time and time again how important this meal is, how it’s essential for your energy, productivity, concentration, mood, etc, etc but I’m still lazy when it comes to preparing something and eating it.  I somehow manage to succeed in making breakfast good and healthy for Sofia, just not myself.  Why this is?  Who knows.  Laziness?  Definitely.  A cup of coffee does not equal a healthy meal!

So I’m going to make a change!  I want to feel better about myself, I need more energy and I want to be healthy.  I start a new job in exactly two weeks, and I want to feel good on my first day.  I know it’s not going to be easy changing my bad habits, but I’m willing to try and work at it.

I recently learned that the yogurt we eat contains a surprising amount of sugar!  Enough that nutritionists would qualify it as a dessert and recommend eating plain yogurt to avoid any added sugar or sweeteners.  Now I don’t know about you, but plain yogurt is not tasty.  In particular, greek yogurt, it is almost bitter tasting and my sweet tooth doesn’t like it.  Despite this, I’m going to continue eating it, but will mix different things in to give it some added flavour.

I decided to start off my new yogurt journey with some frozen, homemade dip ‘n dots.  I call them dip ‘n dots because they’re a lot like the ice cream ones, except you use greek yogurt instead of the ice cream.  I didn’t actually measure my ingredients, but it looked something like this:

Greek Yogurt Dip ‘N Dots

  • 1 1/2 cups plain greek yogurt (I used Oikos 2%)
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Mix together ingredients in a small bowl, then transfer to a sandwich bag.  Cut off one of the ends, like you would with frosting, and pipe little dots on a cookie sheet.  Freeze for several hours, or overnight.  Once dots are frozen, scrape off sheet into a bowl, and enjoy!

yogurt

I found they melt very quickly, so eat fast or stick them back in the freezer for future snacking.  This recipe would also taste great as a popsicle, which I may do next!  Found they were so good I ate them all in one sitting.

Next on my list…

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

